top of page
  • Writer's pictureRegina

[Review] Innisfree Truecare Set


I recently had the chance to review the TRUECARE set by Innisfree (@innisfreeofficial, @innisfree.instalog). It was kindly gifted to me by @stylekorean_global. I love Innisfree so I was super excited to try these out! Almost all of the products from this set are very gentle on the skin, fragrance-free, and non-comedogenic, therefore they are suitable for most skin types. Without further ado, let's get started on the review!


My Skin Type: combination, sensitive

Skin Concerns: enlarged pores, post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation


 

First, I'll be reviewing the full sized products that I received.



TRUECARE Panthenol 10 Moisture Skin

Claims: moisturizes skin, long-lasting hydration, balances pH level (mildly acidic), suited for oily/dehydrated skin


Scent: None

Consistency: watery


This toner truly provides moisture to the skin (the key ingredient, panthenol, is a humectant). It kept my skin hydrated throughout the day and night. It's also very gentle. This toner doesn't have a scent so I highly recommend this to people who are sensitive to fragrance. As for the consistency, it is very watery. It literally feels and looks like water.


Innisfree is transparent about this product. It doesn't help with any other skin concerns besides dehydration. It's a toner that simply moisturizes the skin and balances the pH - that's it. I like it for its simplicity. I have combination skin and my dry areas are REALLY dry, so I enjoyed this product a lot because it provided the moisture that my skin needed. So even though it doesn't really target my skin concerns, I still really like this toner. And for that, I'm giving this a:


★★★★★

5 out of 5 stars


Recommended for: combination-dry skin, sensitive skin, dehydrated skin, people sensitive to fragrance




TRUECARE Non-Nano Sunscreen SPF48 PA+++

Claims: non-comedogenic, blue light and UV rays protection, contains non-nano mineral filters, tones up skin


Scent: None

Texture: watery


I heard this sunscreen is really popular in Korea but I have a love/hate relationship with it. This is a mineral/physical sunscreen and these types of sunscreens usually have a white cast. This one definitely has it but it's not too intense. The white cast brightens up my skin a little bit and I both love and hate that effect. When I layer my foundation over this sunscreen, I feel like it brightens up my skin a bit much, so I only use it whenever I don't wear any makeup. I've tried better sunscreens but I find myself reaching for this quite often since I haven't been wearing makeup under my mask (the new norm). The white cast is also not too noticeable on my face on cloudy days (and that's been the weather in the Bay Area these past few days).


Other than my issue with the white cast, I really like the texture of this sunscreen. It feels very watery and lightweight. It glides onto the skin easily and doesn't feel sticky. There is no doubt that this sunscreen protects the skin from the sun but I noticed that the SPF and PA is just a tiny bit lower than the sunscreens that I usually use. Most of the sunscreens I have are SPF50 PA++++ and this one is only SPF48 PA+++. My rating for this sunscreen is:


★★★★☆

4 out of 5 stars


Recommended for: any skin type, sensitive skin, people sensitive to fragrance



 

From this point on, I'll be moving on to the sample/travel kit that was packaged in the pink box. Also, I just wanna say how much I love the pink little bag that was provided. It's super cute and useful!



TRUECARE Moist Recovery Cream, Calamine 6.5 Cleanser, and Cica Intensive Balm

Moist Recovery Cream

Claims: provides deep moisture, hypoallergenic

Scent: None

Texture: creamy


The Moist Recovery Cream is basically just a moisturizer. It does the job well but I've tried better moisturizers in terms of texture. I personally prefer a lighter texture than a creamy one. Like most of the products in this set, this moisturizer is also really gentle on the skin. Overall, this is a pretty basic moisturizer but I do like the fact that it doesn't feel heavy or sticky on the skin.


★★★☆☆

3 out of 5 stars


My 3 star rating is a satisfactory score. It is not below nor above average. This moisturizer is not a bad product at all. It's actually effective. I just feel like it doesn't stand out compared to other moisturizers and it's not innovative. It works but there's nothing spectacular about it.


Recommended for: any skin type, sensitive skin, people sensitive to fragrance




Calamine 6.5 Cleanser

Claims: non-comedogenic, controls excessive sebum, soothing (because of calamine), non-tightening, leaves skin moisturized, refreshing

Scent: faint woody scent (?)

Consistency: transparent gel, runny


This is probably one of the most gentle cleansers I've ever used and it is also very effective. It foams up a bit but it's not soapy. It leaves my skin feeling soft. My face doesn't feel dry or tight after using it so I can confirm that it doesn't strip off all the natural oils on your face. I actually really like this cleanser and I highly recommend it!


★★★★★

5 out of 5


Recommended for: any skin type, sensitive skin, dehydrated skin, people who need a soothing/gentle cleanser, acne prone skin




Cica Intensive Balm

Claims: non-comedogenic, repairs damaged skin, spot treatment, helps with skin problems, moisturizing, stimulates skin regeneration

Scent: None

Texture: light balmy gel


Wow, this product has a lot of claims! I kinda underestimated this balm at first because it sounds like an ambitious, miracle product. I cannot vouch for all its claims but it did prevent a mild pimple for me and got rid of the three whiteheads I had this week. I closely observed its performance on those troubled spots, and despite my low hopes on this product, it actually kinda does work? I only used it for a week so I don't know if it's truly brightening or anti-aging. While it did work on that mild pimple and those three whiteheads, it didn't really brighten up a few spots that they left. It's probably too early to see any major results and I'm gonna have to keep using this to see if it does anything miraculous.


In the end, I've gained some hope on this product but it's too early to tell if it has the ability to fix everything it claims to fix. I don't think this is a necessary product to have in your skincare routine, but I think it's worth the try just to see if it'll improve some trouble spots. It's non-comedogenic so you don't have to worry about it breaking you out. Basically, it doesn't really have a "con", which is why I think it's worth trying it. In that case, I will give this a:


★★★☆☆

3 out of 5 stars (maybe even a 3.8)


Recommended for: acne prone skin, sensitive skin, dehydrated skin, troubled skin




TRUECARE PHA Toner Pad

Claims: improves skin texture without causing irritation, gentle exfoliation, balances pH level, wipes away dead skin and makeup residue, not drying


Scent: None

Texture: (the toner is soaked on a toner pad that has an embossed and smooth side)


This is one of my faves in the sample/travel kit set! It's my first time using PHA and I absolutely love it! PHA is a very gentle exfoliator and it actually does feel like it wipes away dead skin and any other dirt on my face. I feel refreshed after using it! It has a fizzy sensation (not tingling or stinging sensation) when it sets on the skin. Also, it's very convenient to use since the pads are already soaked with the PHA toner.


I was only able to use this for two nights because the kit only consisted of two packs. Each pack contained a pair of pads. Out of all the products in this set, this is probably the one that I would personally purchase. I highly recommend this product to those who are looking for a gentle exfoliator or just starting out with exfoliating.


★★★★★

5 out of 5


Recommended for: sensitive skin, oily skin, dry/combo skin




TRUECARE AC Soothing Ampoule


Claims: non-comedogenic, controls sebum, exfoliates and hydrates skin, strengthens skin barrier, removes whiteheads, moisturizing, soothing


Scent: None

Consistency: watery, transparent (almost identical to the consistency of the Panthenol 10 toner)


This product also has a lot of claims like the Cica Intensive Balm. It sounds a lot like a miracle product too. It might've helped with my whiteheads as well but this one falls a little short for me. Although it claims to have a lot of benefits, I feel like this product is somewhat underwhelming. Just like the balm, I'd have to use this for a while to see if it really makes any difference. I applied this ampoule after using the PHA Toner Pad and it felt really refreshing as it relieves the fizzy sensation from the toner. Other than that, I personally don't think it's necessary to incorporate this ampoule into my skincare routine. I currently do not use any "miracle" ampoules because I only use products that I actually really need and target my specific skin concerns. In general, I don't think ampoules are necessary unless it makes you feel good and truly improves your skin.


Just like the Moisture Recovery Cream, I don't think this is a bad product. It's not below nor above average. Because of that, I am giving this ampoule a:


★★★☆☆

3 out of 5 stars


Recommended for: any skin type, sensitive skin


 

Overall, I really enjoyed trying out Innisfree's Truecare line! Most of these products didn't specifically target my skin concerns (enlarged pores and PIH) but they still served their main purposes. What I liked about all of these products is that none of them caused any breakouts, irritation, or undesirable sensations. They are all very gentle on the skin and most are fragrance-free and non-comedogenic. If you have sensitive skin, I recommend trying out the products from this line!


Highly recommended products: PHA Toner Pad, Panthenol 10 Moisture Skin toner, Calamine 6.5 Cleanser


Not Recommend: Moist Recovery Cream, AC Soothing Ampoule


Thanks for checking out my review! Hope it helped you in some way. If you are interested in purchasing any of these products, click HERE to check out INNISFREE's product page on Style Korean!


0 comments

Comments


BLOGLOGO.jpg
bottom of page