top of page
  • Writer's pictureRegina

[Review] Laneige Skincare and Lip Care Products


Hi everyone! This time I'll be reviewing some Laneige products I've picked up from Sephora throughout 2020. Two of the products featured in this review are my holy grail skincare/lip care picks, so I'm really excited to share my thoughts about them! I'll be reviewing the Laneige Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer, Glowy Makeup Serum, Lip Sleeping Mask and Lip Glowy Balm. Please keep in mind that I, the reviewer, have combination, sensitive skin that tends to get drier in the winter.


Let's start the review!



LANEIGE Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer

This is, undoubtedly, the best toner I’ve ever used. One of my holy grail skincare products! I tried out a couple of other toners in 2020 and none of them came even close to this one. But really, the LANEIGE Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer is nothing too fancy. It doesn't claim to do anything miraculous, like being able to get rid of acne in just a week or shrink pores instantly. The main functions of this toner/moisturizer are to hydrate, moisturize, and strengthen the skin barrier. That's it. It's a simple yet effective product. Although it's simple, this is a pretty revolutionary and innovative product, successfully combining both toner and moisturizer. Most toners out in the market claim to have “hydrating” or “moisturizing” properties that are usually not enough to make people skip their actual moisturizer. However, the Laneige Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer TRULY is a toner and moisturizer combined, not just another hydrating toner. Of course, it still depends on how dry your skin is, but for me, I can usually skip my moisturizer whenever I use this toner because the moisturizer infused in it is powerful enough for me and lasts throughout the night.


The Laneige Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer has a watery texture and it feels a little slippery and smooth (like lotion or a moisturizer) as you apply it on your skin. It's extremely hydrating but it feels comfortable on the skin; not heavy or oily. As for the scent... it smells a bit like rice water with a hint of sweetness? It's quite difficult to describe its unique scent. I don't think the scent is off putting since it's very subtle.


Overall, the Laneige Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer is an amazing product that I highly recommend, especially to people whose skin type is similar to mine.



Recommended for: combination, dry, dehydrated skin

Main Functions: moisturizing, hydrating, strengthens skin barrier

My Rating: 5/5



Get the LANEIGE Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer at:




LANEIGE Glowy Makeup Serum

I bought this product right before winter because I knew that my combination skin will get drier when it gets colder. I wanted a moisturizing primer that’ll give my skin a healthy glow. This makeup serum is basically a primer in serum form. It feels nice and hydrating on the skin. If you look at the photos below, you'll see that it has tiny pink beads and glitters. But no need to worry, they quickly disappear as you apply it on your skin. Also, it doesn't have any scent. I found that it works best if you leave this on your skin for a couple of minutes until it sets before applying makeup.


Here comes the important part of the review... I feel that the performance of this product depends on the type of foundation you’re using and the type/condition of your skin. I’ve tried this with a matte and semi-matte foundation and it didn’t work well. I don’t know if it’s just me or the way I apply my foundation (I use a cushion foundation) but I personally think that matte foundations don't sit well on top of this serum/primer. It just feels weird on the skin. I also noticed that it causes some pilling with matte foundations (which I usually don't experience with any type of foundation). I'm guessing the pilling is due to the strong adherence of the serum/primer. However, it’s a different story for foundations with a dewy finish. I’ve been using a dewy foundation this winter and it works pretty well with this serum/primer. It beautifully enhanced the dewy effect and adherence of the foundation. I also didn't experience any pilling. Since the weather is cold and dry, this combination is perfect for the current condition of my skin. I don’t know how the serum/primer will perform in the warmer months but I guess I‘ll just have to find out later on.


Overall, I like this makeup serum. It may not be the best primer (I've yet to find a better one) but it works for me since I don't typically use matte foundations. However, I'm not sure if I'd want to recommend this to others. I don't think this a one-size-fits-all type of product. Not all types of skin and foundation will cooperate with this serum/primer. You kinda just have to try it out for yourself and see if it works for you.



Recommended for: combination, dry, dull skin

Main Functions: gives skin a healthy glow, hydrates skin, helps foundation last longer

My Rating: 3



Get the LANEIGE Glowy Makeup Serum at:




LANEIGE Lip Sleeping Mask (Berry)

One of Laneige's best sellers. This lip mask is also one of my holy grails! Leaving this on overnight and wiping it off the next morning will leave your lips looking plump, soft, and hydrated. It got rid of those annoying, dry patches on my lips. The flavor I got is berry and it smells soooo good! It smells kind of like strawberry starbursts. I don't have much to say about this product other than it actually really works. You just have to use it correctly. I've read some negative reviews on this product and I feel like it didn't work for some people because they used it incorrectly. Some people leave the lip mask on for way too long or throughout the day and didn't wipe it off so it dried out their lips. It also happened to me before when I forgot to wipe it off in the morning. It is supposed to be removed after a certain amount of time, hence the name "lip sleeping mask". The best way to get desired results is to follow the suggested usage. You could also leave it on for an hour or even just half an hour and remove it to smoothen out your lips before applying lipstick on. Overall, this is an amazing lip product and I highly recommend it to everyone.



Recommended for: dry, chapped, dehydrated lips

Main Functions: softens, hydrates, and plumps the lips

My Rating: 5/5



Get the LANEIGE Lip Sleeping Mask at:




LANEIGE Lip Glowy Balm (Berry)

I honestly only bought this lip balm because I kinda got obsessed with the berry flavored scent of the lip sleeping mask (lol). This actually smells even better than the lip sleeping mask because the berry (or should I say, "strawberry starburst") scent is stronger in this one. If you accidentally get this in your teeth... do not worry! It doesn’t taste unpleasant and actually tastes a little bit like its scent. This lip balm does the job well but I find it a bit too pricey for what it is ($17). It’s a little similar to a lip gloss but not as shiny/glossy or sticky. It has a pink gel-like texture. If you use a decent amount of product, it’ll give your lips a little bit of shine and a very, very slight tint of pink (actually, I don’t even really see it?). The shine doesn’t last that long but it still keeps your lips hydrated for a good amount of time. I also really like the applicator. You can easily swipe it on your lips and not have to use your finger to apply it. Overall, I actually really like this lip balm. Love the scent and the subtle shine it gives to my lips. I just don’t know how I feel about the price. I recommend this to people who want to try something else other than a classic, waxy lip balm stick.


Recommended for: dry, chapped, dehydrated lips

Main Functions: moisturizes lips, subtle shine/gloss

My Rating: 4/5



Get the LANEIGE Lip Glowy Balm at:


 

Thanks for reading my review! I hope it somewhat helped you decide which Laneige product you want to get.


Don't forget to follow me on Instagram and check out my YouTube channel!




*Purchasing through the Amazon links provided in this post lets me earn a small commission

0 comments

Comments


BLOGLOGO.jpg
bottom of page