top of page
  • Writer's pictureRegina

EM Cosmetics Review (Divine Skies palette, Lip Cushion, and Serum Blush)


This review is long overdue! I've finally gathered my thoughts for this honest review after having this set for a few months. The products I'll be reviewing in this post are the Divine Skies eyeshadow palette, Lip Cushion Tinted Lip Luminizer, and the Color Drops Serum Blush. EM Cosmetics is a cosmetic brand by Michelle Phan (love her!). I've always had my eyes on this brand due to its innovative products, beautiful shade choices, and aesthetic packaging. All products from EM Cosmetics are cruelty-free and some are gluten-free and/or vegan. Now that we know a little bit about the brand and its products, let's start the review!






I LOVE this eyeshadow palette! It is absolutely gorgeous! The shades are so beautiful! They did such great job choosing the shades. This palette consists of 3 matte shadows and 3 shimmery ones. When using or mixing multiple eyeshadows from this palette, they seem to be in perfect harmony. You cannot go wrong with any of the shades. This palette is perfect for a soft, peachy look. You can also use it to make your eye makeup pop or even when you're just aiming for a natural makeup look. As for the packaging, it's really beautiful! It feels sturdy and premium. I love the geometric shape of the palette, which is also the logo of EM Cosmetics. I also like how a mirror is included in the palette.


One thing I noticed from using this eyeshadow palette though is that it takes a bit of effort to completely blend out the matte shadows with an eyeshadow brush. This only applies to the matte shadows, not the shimmery ones. Perhaps it's because of the matte shadows' velvety texture, which is not necessarily a bad thing (at least it's not chalky and has no fallouts). Nevertheless, it blends out beautifully! Overall, this palette is a little bit on the pricier side for 6 eyeshadows ($38) but I think the price is justified due to its gorgeous, highly pigmented shadows. It's totally worth it considering the quality!


Packaging: 5/5

Pigmentation: 5/5

Shades/Color: 5/5

Ease of Use: 4.5/5



(shades used for my eye makeup: Sunset [soft peach matte], Phoenix [warm clay matte], Heavenly [white gold shimmer])






I really liked this lip cushion! It's an interesting product. It's like lipgloss but in lipstick form. It feels hydrating on the lips and buttery when you glide it on. It's very glossy and makes my lips look plump. It gives a wet lip effect, which I'm really fond of! The shade that I got is Magic Hour, which is a peachy pink color. This is not supposed to be an extremely pigmented lip product. The tint is subtle but you can definitely build it up with a few more swipes. It builds up nicely and doesn't clump up. I usually go for a few more swipes to intensify the color and shine because it's so pretty when it fully shows up on the lips. As for the packaging, I like the overall design but the lip cushion is not retractable once you twist it up. I wish it was just in case I accidentally twist it up too much (luckily, it hasn't happened yet!). I really love this lip cushion but I think it's a little expensive for only 1.6g/0.05oz of product. That's very little compared to other lip products. I feel like I'll run out of this so quickly if I use it everyday. This isn't really a common product that you can find anywhere but you can probably find a similar product that'll give you almost a similar effect for less than $22. However, I still think this lip cushion is worth it for its uniqueness, great formula, quality, and the beautiful effect it gives to your lips!


Packaging: 4/5

Pigmentation: 4/5

Shade/Color: 5/5

Ease of Use: 5/5



(Lip Cushion Tinted Lip Luminizer gives your lips a lovely peachy pink tint while making it look juicy and plump)





I have A LOT to say about this product. First of all, as someone who has dry cheeks, I ADORE this serum blush so much! The formula works really well for my skin. It feels hydrating and it's easy to blend. It gives off a dewy effect to your cheeks, which I really like. I got this serum blush in the shade Pink Nectar and it is such a beautiful color! This is a pretty innovative product as I've never seen a product like this before. It's really unique and the quality is great so I think the price ($25) is reasonable. The only problem I had with this product is the applicator. The design of the packaging is pretty and aesthetically pleasing but the applicator, which is a dropper, is unfortunately dysfunctional and inefficient. I found out recently in a YouTube comment section of an EM Cosmetics review video that I'm not the only one who had an issue with a faulty applicator for this particular product. I guess it has been an on-going complaint. I was pretty sad that I wasn't able to use this serum blush for a while because the applicator kept detaching from the lid and eventually got stuck in the bottle. I totally get that this design looks pretty but I don't think it's practical.


I have to give credit to EM Cosmetic's customer support team, though. I emailed them about this problem and they responded right away. They quickly sent me a replacement product even if I purchased this serum blush over 2 months ago. Now, THIS is customer service! They wanted me to send back my faulty product to examine it and probably to see how they can improve the applicator's mechanism. The replacement product they sent me has a slimmer dropper, whereas the old dropper had a slightly thicker dropper which made it prone to getting stuck in the bottle. Still not the best in terms of functionality, but way better than the previous one. The new dropper seems to suck in a lot of air and not much of the serum blush (which is okay, I guess, since I only use a small amount anyway). I'm just glad I'm actually able to use it now even though the applicator still feels a little fragile. Besides my issue with the applicator, the serum blush itself is an excellent product. The formula is amazing and they have a wide range of beautiful shades. I highly recommend it to people who have combination/dry skin or to those who are looking to enhance their dewy/glowy makeup look. As for the packaging, I really hope EM Cosmetics changes the design of the applicator. The serum blush feels like a premium product, so I feel that the packaging should be premium as well.


Packaging: 2/5 (due to the applicator)

Pigmentation: 5/5

Shade/Color: 5/5

Ease of Use: 5/5 (in this case, applying/blending the serum blush onto the skin)

*bonus* Customer Service: 5/5



(My final look using all three products!)




 

Final Thoughts

Overall, I really enjoyed using these products and I am satisfied with them! EM Cosmetics is a mid-range, indie cosmetic brand so it can get a little pricey, but I think that the quality of most of their products justify the prices. However, they need to improve the packaging of particular products but the product themselves are great. I am also satisfied with their excellent customer service. They seem to take into consideration the feedback of their customers, so I do hope they could keep improving in the future. I will continue to support this brand and I highly recommend checking out their products!




***products not gifted/PR

0 comments

Comments


BLOGLOGO.jpg
bottom of page